A weekend in Liverpool

Well I don’t have too much time to blog about this week because in 1.5 hours I am leaving for Amsterdam! A group of us are going through a tour company that takes students to different areas in the UK and Europe. It’s really convenient because they set everything up for you and send a tour guide. Last weekend we went with the same company on a tour to Liverpool and Manchester. We left super early in the morning for a 4 hour drive to Warwick Castle. This is the 4th or 5th castle I have seen so far and although every castle has unique things about it most are pretty similar. Warwick Castle was set up more as a live working castle with actors to help illustrate the history of the castle which was a nice change of pace from other castles I’ve seen. For example there was a section of the castle that was set up so you felt like you were at a dinner party there and got to hear all about the scandals going on at the time. After the castle, we headed to Liverpool where we got a grand tour of the city and all its famous spots. That night we hit up the town and visited The Cavern Club, a famous Beatles show spot! It was definitely a more popular spot for an older crowd but the live band and whole atmosphere made it fun for us college kids too. Everytime I turned around a 50-something year old man would be raising his glass to cheers me! One man even told me I was beautiful and insisted on giving me a kiss on the cheek.. it was a little odd but now I can tell my friends back home about the cute English men i’ve been meeting! We went to a few other clubs too that were pretty similar to the clubs in Brighton. One club was playing some really sweet remixes of old school songs like Man in the Mirror by Michael Jackson and 9 to 5 by Dolly Parton and I was loving it. The next morning we headed to the Albert Docks which houses the Beatle story. I love the Beatles music so it was great to learn more about how they started and got so famous. I bought a pack of playing cards that had a different picture of the fab four on every card and on the ride to Manchester my friend Kait quizzed me on who was who on the cards because I could never tell the difference before. In Manchester, we went to the Manchester United Football Club stadium and got a tour. I’m not a big football/soccer fan but it was fun to see the stadium and hear stories about a sport so many English men and women love. From there we started the long drive back to Brighton.

Things I’m loving: Brighton is becoming more like home, Finding a chill pub off the beaten path to go for drinks during the week, The farm store down the road that sells fresh produce and home-made bread, The movie Easy A finally came out in England (I left the day it came out in the US and really want to see it!), Seeing even more of England, Being able to see the Beatles hometown,

Things I’m not quite loving: Not fully understanding assignments for class, Some days feel like they are wasted by just hanging out in our flat, Using a 5 pound hair straightener instead of my own, It being colder in England than in North Dakota, Breaking my camera screen (we’ll see how good the pictures turn out now…)

Things I’m learning: To navigate new places, that I need to make the most of my time while I’m here, “The love you take is equal to the love you make…” -The Beatles

Tonight we take off for Amsterdam and Bruges! We are riding a coach through the night and should arrive in Amsterdam around 7:30 am. I’m most stoked for the Heineken experience and the Anne Frank house! I’ve heard amazing things about Amsterdam so I’m sure we’ll have a great time. I don’t know much about Bruges but the tour company claims theres amazing chocolate there.. and I love chocolate! The only bad thing is Monday morning I have a paper due and it’s nowhere near done. Hopefully the long bus ride will give me plenty of time to write it!

Peace, Love, Essays and AMSTERDAM!

Warwick Castle

Apparently if I weighed more than the book I was a witch!

In Liverpool. Penny Lane is in my ears and in my eyes.

At the Beatles story Museum.

About sabrinainbrighton

Hey all! I am just a few short weeks away from a red eye to Heathrow International Airport from which I will embark on a 3 month adventure in Brighton, England and hopefully other European cities. I have no idea what to expect but I have heard the city of Brighton is nothing short of amazing! I am also very fortunate to have friends living throughout England and Wales and hope to explore many of their hometowns and experience typical British life. I am most excited for English breakfast, the Brighton Pier, traveling Europe, and studying in a quintessential college town.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

